Mid Canterbury Rugby Awards 2016

Mid Canterbury Rugby Union’s annual awards evening was held at Hotel Ashburton last night, as players, coaches, officials and volunteers were recognized for their contribution to the game.

The premier awards were hotly contested with plenty of talent and dedication among Mid Canterbury’s rugby fraternity, but only one in each category can be given the nod.

Chris O’Malley picked up the Ant McGirr Trophy as Mid Canterbury Referee of the Year and Mark Hanrahan’s efforts earned him the Phillip McDonald Cup for the Rugby Volunteer Services Award.

Dale Palmer was presented with the Neville Goodwin Memorial Trophy for his outstanding individual coaching performance within Mid Canterbury Rugby Union, while Mt Somers were named Mid Canterbury Club of the Year.

JAB Club Awards
Town v Country Cup – Southern.

Junior Club Awards
Under 8 Geoff Frew Centurion Shield – Southern
Under 9 Grant Perry Centurion Shield – Southern
Under 10 Alistair Morrison Centurion Shield – Celtic
Under 11½ John Smitheram Centurion Shield & MCRU Cup – Methven
Under 13 Murray Roulston Centurion Shield & Summerfield Cup – Hampstead
Under 14½ Jock Ross Centurion Shield & MCRU Cup – Allenton/Tinwald

Special Awards for Junior Club Rugby
Best average points in JAB rugby – Hampstead Under 13
Selected by Referees – Allenton Under 11.5
Best conduct in JAB rugby – Celtic
Bobby Calf Club Challenge – Southern
Junior Club Coach of the Year – Butch Baker and Warren Donald (Allenton / Tinwald Under 14.5

Teenage Club Awards
Under 16: HN Edge Cup & Russell Kelly Memorial Cup – Allenton/Celtic
Under 18: Rudstone Cup & Kevin Dwyer Memorial Trophy – Celtic
Colts: MCRU Cup – Methven/Rakaia
Teenage Coach of the Year – Neville Prendergast and Peter Topham (Celtic Under 16)

Club Senior Grade Awards
Senior B
Michael Duff Memorial Trophy – Southern
Centennial Mug – Southern
Second Grade Cup – Southern

Senior Awards
Dave White Memorial Cup – Rakaia
Max Gilbert Challenge Trophy – Celtic
Luisetti Seeds Watters Cup – Rakaia & Southern

Special Awards for Open Grade Rugby
Body Cup (Best Open Grade Captain) – Eric Duff Southern Seniors

Positive Play Award – Methven Seniors
Roy Smith Memorial (Best conduct in Open Grade rugby) – Collegiate B
MB Roulston Cup (Most points in Senior Rugby) – Andrew Letham (Rakaia Senior)
Open Grade Coach of the Year – Jason Gill, Fraser Hutchinson and Andrew Carr (Southern B)

Referee Presentations
Findlay Cup (Commitment to Refereeing) – Hamish Grant
Pierce Trophy (Awarded to the most improved Referee) – Phil Hill
The MacPherson Family Intermediate & Junior Referee of the Year – Simon Bennett
Life Members Cup (Awarded for outstanding contribution) – Chris O’Malley

Mid Canterbury Representative Awards
Cousins Cup (MCRU Sevens Player of the Year) – Greg Spence

Grade Player of the Year
Under 14 & Robert Woodham Under 14 Cup – Mac Kaitao
Under 16 – Liam McCormack
Under 18 – Max Stapleton

Mid Canterbury Development Team Awards
Mid Canterbury Development Team Back of the Year – Nathan McCloy
Mid Canterbury Development Team Forward of the Year – Thomas Heywood
Mid Canterbury Development Team Best Team Man – Jacob Sutton
Mid Canterbury Development Team Player of the Year – Angus McKenzie
Mid Canterbury Heartland Team Awards
Heartland Back of the Year – Maleli Sau
Heartland Forward of the Year – Jackson Donlan
Heartland Best Team Man – Adam Williamson

Saturday, November 5th, 2016

Comments are closed